History of the Embassy

Diplomatic relations between the Republic of Estonia and the Republic of Latvia were established in the years 1918-1919. In 1921 the two Baltic countries recognized one another de jure.

On 13 March 1919, a 26-year-old military officer, Julius Jürgenson, was appointed as Estonia’s first official representative in Latvia with the title of liaison officer, and in May 1919 he opened the first consulate of the Republic of Estonia in Riga. In the same year Jürgenson was appointed as Estonia’s military attaché in the Republic of Latvia. On 14 July 1919 Theodor Tallmeister, pastor of the Estonian Lutheran congregation in Riga, became Estonian consul and Estonia’s diplomatic representative. At the end of 1919 Karl Kornel was appointed as Estonia’s envoy to the Republic of Latvia. It was at the Estonian Embassy in Riga that Ernst Jaakson, the grand old man of Estonian diplomacy, started his career as an errand boy, later becoming Estonia’s first ambassador to the U.N. In 1921 the Republic of Estonia purchased a building for its mission in Riga at 13 Skolas Street, were the Estonian Embassy is located today.

Estonia’s representatives – Envoys Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary – in Riga:
1920-1922 Aleksander Hellat (initially Chargé d’Affaires)
1922-1928 Julius Seljamaa
1928-1931 Eduard Virgo
1933-1937 Karl Menning
1937-1940 Hans Rebane

The Embassy of the Republic of Estonia in Riga was reopened on 25 August 1992. The Embassy was inaugurated by Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia Jaan Manitski. Prime Minister Ivars Godmanis and Minister of Defence Dainis Turlais represented Latvia at the opening ceremony. Initially, the Embassy premises in Riga were located at 62 Nometnu Street. The Embassy building was relocated in 1995 back to its original address of 13 Skolas Street.

Estonia’s ambassadors extraordinary and plenipotentiary in Riga:

1992-1993 Leili Utno
1994-1998 Toomas Tiivel
1998-2002 Juhan Haravee
2002-2006 Toomas Lukk
2006-2010 Jaak Jõerüüt
2010-2014 Mati Vaarmann
2014-2018 Tõnis Nirk
2018 -2022 Arti Hilpus
2022          Eerik Marmei